All the Babes

Welcome back, broseph.

As I have mentioned, I work at World Vision – international humanitarian organization, largest provider of clean water amongst NGOs, has one of the best community development models, etc. I’ve been working there for a couple years; starting right after I graduated college.

It’s pretty rare these days, but once I started there, I knew that I wanted to work there for the rest of my career. How lucky is that! I’m in love with my job. Everyday I go to work, look poverty straight in the face and say: Not today motherf*cker. Seriously the best feeling.

Well today, I found out that if I sign up 20 new child sponsorships this summer for World Vision – they’ll take me to see our field work in Africa.

SWOONS. 

IMG_2250

YES PLEASE TAKE ME TO AFRICA. LET ME SEE OUR FIELD WORK UP CLOSE.

I will do anything to get these kids sponsored, haha. Let me clarify, the trip to Africa is not the reason why I want to get kids sponsored. It’s ABSOLUTELY an incentive, but not the heart behind it.

It’s a little bit weird, the concept of child sponsorship, but what World Vision is able to do with those dollars is mind-blowing. Like $39 on a monthly basis is enough to provide clean water, education programs, gender quality/family development programs, child protection initiatives, health education/healthcare, disaster preparedness, and food. Just to name a few – that’s not even the entire list.

So, the point – is that child sponsorship changes communities for the long term. Together, we could demolish poverty. It wouldn’t even stand a chance.

Sponsor a kid. Let’s change the world.

❤ Emily

 

 

Leave a Reply

